Newbie here

Diamond2
Diamond2 Member Posts: 9
edited 30. Aug 2015, 11:44 in Say Hello Archive
hi thought I would say hello to you all. I have just been diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my knees . I am only in my 40s so was not expecting to get a condition like this until I was older. Looking forward to chatting to you all sharing experiences and making new friends . :)

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Diamond2,

Welcome to the forum from all the Moderation team. We all have some form of Arthritis too or look after someone with it so we know where you are coming from. The forum members are the best and will be along soon.

Do take a look at the other forums and join in wherever you feel comfortable

Take care
    Mod Yx
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Hello, it's nice to meet you but I am sorry you have had to find us. You've already learnt the first hard lesson of arthritis - one is never too young to be affected. This condition cares not for our age, plans, careers etc., it moves in without an invitation and doesn't move out.

My GP deals with the OA and prescribes pain relief, I also have an anti-inflammatory med to take if required. I rarely need that, however, thanks to the meds for my other arthritis (one of the auto-immune kinds). Exercise is important to help keep our muscles stronger and more flexible, it's better if it's of the low-impact kind such as cycling, swimming or walking. I have OA in both ankles and both knees and it isn't fun.