Advice

Options
Louise81
Louise81 Member Posts: 9
edited 29. Sep 2015, 07:30 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all,

I'm in need of a bit of advice. I'm still awaiting results from the blood tests my gp took (I had tests done that leaked in transit so had to get more tests done last week) but my gp thinks there's something autoimmune going on, most possibly a form of arthritis.

The thing is that I have been off work for the past 3 weeks with joint pain, stiffness and extreme fatigue. The gp actually signed me off with arthritis (I thought this was a bit strange but hey ho). I was starting to feel much better and am due to return to work tomorrow. However I've had a major relapse over the weekend and now feel just as awful as I did 3 weeks ago.

I'm so upset, I was so looking forward to going back to work but my job is quite physical and I really don't think I can manage feeling like this. Do I try going back, grit my teeth and try my best to get through it (I work in education and it's only two weeks to the holidays) and maybe end up worse, or do I get another sick line and a doctors appointment?

I don't know what to do, I hurt everywhere, I can literally feel my pulse in my joints and I'm so so tired :-( I really don't want to let my work down and feel like I've been off for so long (this is the first time I've ever been signed off from work in 11 years of working).

Sorry for moaning, I'm just getting fed up and feel totally pants.

Louise xx

Comments

• Jen
    Jen Member Posts: 155
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi louise

So sorry you are dealing with all this pain. I would say see how you are in the morning and if there is no change and you still feel you can't manage going to work, just phone the doc first thing to check in the Surgery and arrange to get another sick certificate, then phone your work to explain the situation.