HUMIRA AND SIDE EFFECTS

anneleigh
anneleigh Member Posts: 2
edited 27. Jan 2016, 10:42 in Say Hello Archive
Hi, I'm new to Arthritis Care and I'm looking for some advice.
I have had RA for almost 42 years and I have been using Humira injections since August 2007 - just over 8 years without any problems until quite recently.
A few weeks ago the skin on my face became very dry and flakey. Then it also became quite red and blotchy. It was quite itchy and spread into my hairline.
My GP gave me antihistamine tablets and a Dermol cream.
At first it seemed to improve but then got worse with my neck and upper chest becoming quite inflame, itchy and sore.
My GP then gave me a 3 day course of steroids and a Hydrocortisone cream. Still on the Antihistamine.
Although it is improved my facial skin is still flakey and I have a little bit of a red, motley rash on the inside of my elbows.
I am overdue my injection and I'm not sure if I should take one.
Could this problem be an effect of the Humira? I'd be grateful for any advice.
Thanks

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello
    Welcome to the forum. I'm sure you will find support, advice and light relief here.
    I am one of the moderation team, we all have one or more arthritis 'hangers on' or look after family with the same.
    If you need help with the technicalities of the forum just get in touch via a personal message.
    Best wishes
    CK Moderator
  • daffy2
    daffy2 Member Posts: 1,636
    Hello Anne
    Welcome to the forum. I'm sorry I can't help with your query as I have OA, but there are several other members who are on humira. Unfortunately as it's holiday time the forum is very quiet so it may take a while for you to get a reply from one of them. If you have access to a rheumatology nurse or helpline then perhaps it would be worth contacting them ?
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697