Magpies.

dreamdaisy
dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
edited 22. Apr 2016, 05:49 in Community Chit-chat archive
I freely admit I am new to this whole gardening-and-bird-watching malarkey but I might be getting a feel or understanding of what happens and when. I stress might . :wink:

Last year we had two magpies in the garden, from April onwards, who disappeared around November. Earlier this week two returned but whether they are the same two I don't know: neither do I know if they are a pair. They are haunting the garden and have now discovered the drive, hanging around all the feeders and one just had a fierce squabble with a wood pigeon.

I know I can google magpies and discover what-is-what-and-why but (call me old-fashioned because I am) I wondered if any of you have noticed the same? Currently we have blue tits, long-tailed tits, blackbirds, collared doves, robins, sparrows, fat wood pigeons and wrens plus two magpies hanging around, but no crows (yet). DD
Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Oh do google them! I hadn't a clue either but I looked on wiki and there are some amazingly coloured maggies in other countries. One is clearly a West Ham or Villa supporter rather than a Geordie :wink:
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • theresak
    theresak Member Posts: 1,998
    I have to say, I don`t know a great deal about birds, though hubby & elder son are very knowledgeable, which is handy. My hubby says the amount of birds currently nesting in our gardens & hedge we should be charging rent!