OA and gluten

JJE239
JJE239 Member Posts: 24
edited 27. Apr 2016, 06:01 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi, I've just joined this forum so will introduce myself a little before getting to my question. I have severe OA in both my knees - bone on bone now and some damage to patella and tibia as a result. I am 38, which is apparently quite young for such extreme damage. I'm a sports teacher, so this has come as quite a blow to me and I can no longer run or play the sports I love.

In the past few years have developed an intolerance to gluten which manifests itself in eczema on my elbows. I'm not always brilliant at being gluten free but am prepared to take the consequences occasionally. However, now that I'm trying to manage my OA pain, I'm wondering whether gluten can also contribute to joint pain. I have read some articles about a link with RA, which makes sense to me as an autoimmune response, but I'm not sure about OA.

The reason I'm asking now is that I had a high gluten diet yesterday and am suffering with knee pain today that is more severe than usual, but with only a very small amount of swelling - no more than a normal day.
Does anyone know of a link between gluten and OA?

Comments

• daffy2
    daffy2 Member Posts: 1,636
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    There isn't the scientific work to say one way or the other, but that's not to say there isn't a link. I am wheat intolerant and definitely notice a link between my OA problems and inadvertent or unavoidable wheat ingestion, more acute if there are additional factors such as a cold, or being overtired. I take the view that if my body has difficulties with digesting/processing something in my diet then that is unlikely to be helpful to any other conditions I may have, such as OA, fibromyalgia,allergies, and so is best avoided.