Stair lifts

Options
PollyDoodle
PollyDoodle Member Posts: 2
edited 20. May 2016, 20:07 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum so please bear with me. I have osteoarthritis in my hands, feet, knees and to quote my GP 'in laymans terms' severe degeneration of the lower spine, plus unexplained collapsed vertebrae in my upper spine. I am in constant pain to a greater or lesser degree. Walking is painful, although the dogs do get a 20 min walk everyday and I can do household tasks and mow the grass! I find going up and down stairs can be quite a task. somedays I have stood at the bottom of the stairs and thought 'I cant do this' - have to as our loo is upstairs! I still ride my bike as it carries my shopping and holds me up, and the homeward journey is downhill all the way!
I am getting quotes for stairlifts as I feel some days I could do with one, and I cant carry a basket of ironing upstairs either.
I think the point of my post is that I feel a bit of a fraud even thinking about it. I feel I'm too young and active (70 in september)
I have always been a very active person, running, riding, tennis and I find it so very hard to come to terms with losing my mobility although I shouldnt be suprised, my family (female side) have all suffered with severe arthritis.
Can anyone give me some advice on what to do. If I go ahead now it is just about affordable, but may not be so in a year or twos time,
ARe there any companies best to avoid or any recommendations

Thank you

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,712
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello Pollydoodle and welcome to the forum we'd all prefer not to qualify for :D

You have a lot going on there and yet you seem to take it all in your – dare I say it? - stride. I'm sure all that exercise will have helped you to keep on top of things though mowing the lawn sounds a bit scary with a dodgy back.