Rituximab

Options
markskorupa
markskorupa Member Posts: 4
edited 27. Jul 2016, 13:32 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to the forum and after reading one of the articles on the site about the benefits of it I decided to join.
I've had arthritis since the age of 9 and always relatively well managed with drugs. 18 months ago we found I wasn't responding as well to Infliximab as I had been so it was decided in December last year I would swap onto Rituximab. I've just had my second bout of two weekly infusions, with the last one on 7th July, and I'm experiencing a flare up with a swollen knee that was drained and injected with steroids on 7th July, bad neck and shoulder and stiff hands. My consultant seems to think it's an infection and I did have a bit of a sniffle at the start of last week, but I just wondered what other people's experiences were like with Rituximab and how long it took to kick in and whether it was usual to flare so soon after? The past 18 months has for the first time in 20 years seen me taking time off work for the condition and boy do I find getting up in the morning hard, with methotrexate down to a low dose because I hated the side effects (5mg a week) I had hoped the fog would have cleared, but it doesn't seem to be the case.
Would appreciate reading about anyone else's experiences and any tips on how to beat the fatigue!
Thanks
Mark

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums markskorupa from the moderation team

As mods we are here to help with any problems you may have on the message boards.

There are lots of lovely people here with a wide range of experiences with arthritis and the problems of living with the condition. Just join in wherever you like you will be made very welcome.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.

Best wishes

Mod John
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    Options