Stress & arthritis

lynnemarie1123
lynnemarie1123 Member Posts: 295
edited 1. Aug 2016, 13:47 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all, hope you are well?

How does stress effect arthritis ? I'm having a super bad time at the moment.
Both home and work are stressful, physically and mentally demanding ! My body is screaming st me to stop! I'm not sleeping and in major pain ! Which is mentally adding to my pressure!

I'm a teacher so only 2 more getups before the summer break but then my 15 year old is having 5 friends to pool party and sleepover on Friday night! - all I want to do is take 2 amitriptyline and go to bed :splash:

:roll: xxx

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    The effects of stress are so well-documented they don't bear questioning. It can even be a potential cause of RA. http://tinyurl.com/hkt4jz8 . In my own case, I had 'rheumatic fever' just before my 11+ exam, I was diagnosed with RA during my O-level course, and I then had flares at A-levels and university finals then after the births of both my sons. QED as far as I'm concerned.

There are ways of combating stress and it's worth exploring them but the easiest way – though it doesn't seem like it at the time – is learning to say 'no' and avoid it. In the long run you'll achieve far more,
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • mig
    mig Member Posts: 7,154
    Its not only stress that can effect your arthritis hubby and I are going on holiday soon its taken me over two years to save up for it and now with only 10days to go I'm super excited my lupus has started breaking out on my skin my joints are aching but that could be the ra as well and the fact that I'm due to inject humira on monday,I hope things calm down for you and you can enjoy the pool party. Hugs Mig
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,280
    its a big yes form me..