Hi new memeber

Clarky69
Clarky69 Member Posts: 9
edited 25. Aug 2016, 07:38 in Say Hello Archive
Just had first injection to wrist yesterday my consultant or gp doesn't really give me much info on my condition just said it was arthritis and would give me injection in hospital I am an electrician and can't afford not to work can any body recommend supports for wrist or pain killers or alternative treatments
Thanks
Dave Clark

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums Clarky69 from the moderation team

As mods we are here to help with any problems you may have on the message boards.

There are lots of lovely people here with a wide range of experiences with arthritis and the problems of living with the condition. Just join in wherever you like you will be made very welcome.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.

Best wishes

Mod John
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi there and welcome from me too.

It sounds as if you have osteoarthritis. The steroid jab will, with luck, keep it quieter for several weeks though they don't work for everyone.

I can see your dilemma with work. It must be difficult. There are pills and potions that we can take to help but, at the end of the day, the arthritis will not go away. Exercises may help as they strengthen the muscles supporting the joint and, especially if you are using a splint, that will be good. Splints have a useful but limited role. They support the joint but encourage muscle wastage and we need strong muscles. Wrist splints can also be quite difficult to work with as they restrict movement.

I think your best bet would be to ask your GP to refer you to a physio who could advise on both splints and exercises. However, you can buy a good neoprene support from eg Amazon or any decent pharmacy.