What are they not telling me?

Julia2960
Julia2960 Member Posts: 14
edited 2. Dec 2016, 05:43 in Living with Arthritis archive
I saw the pain clinic last week,when she saw the condition is was in she sent me for blood tests and x-ray,anyhow fast forward to yesterday she rang me to say the blood tests had come back and they were showing very high levels of inflammation, and that she was ringing my doctors and faxing the results through, she said I don't want to frighten you but it's serious, i asked her straight out in her opinion what I had, r.a.lupus,as you can imagine all sorts of things are running through my head,she replied by saying,I'm not a doctor just a physiotherapist, ,a hour later my doctors receptionist rang,my own doctor was not on duty but a locomotive could see me,she precribed steroids,to take 12,5mg tablets in the morning, the lady from the pain clinic rang me later in the day,to check how I had gone on,and also she had rang my rheumatologist to bring my appointment forward,now I'm so worried,i have been in pain for 6 months now,what's gong on?can therefore be anything worse than,r.a or lupus?

Comments

• trepolpen
    trepolpen Member Posts: 504
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Julia , dont know a huge amount about Lupus but sounds like your RA is playing up

shame you dont know what your CRP / ESR results are as it would tell you alot more & I would ask for them from your surgery , mine went mad a couple of years ago & my CRP went from 30 to over 300 & endded up in hospital where they thought it was an infection & RA would not cause a figure over 50 so had to be a infection

in some ways it would have been better to give you a steriod injection but you have to trust your medical team & 12.5mg is not high & should not do any damage , just hope you are felling better soon
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,332
    Julia I'm with Trepolpen too. It sounds as though your RA is seriously misbehaving.

Not surprised you are suffering.