knee relacement refusal

Janey127
Janey127 Member Posts: 7
edited 10. Jan 2017, 16:18 in Community Chit-chat archive
Hi everyone, i'm new to this, but desperately seeking help. I was told i has osteoarthritis in march after i thought something had snapped in the back of my left knee as i was walking. An Xray revealed i had Arthritis. I couldn't walk without crutches for around 3 weeks. I had the steroid injection, but that had no effect. I was given an appointment for physio, where they gave me a sheet of paper with exercises on and got no follow up appointment. I have seen 3 different GP's who have all said i need a knee replacement. I cannot straighten my leg fully and walk with a slight limp now. I eventually had an MRI scan and a follow up appointment with a consultant, who said i need physio !! He also said i don't qualify for a knee replacement as i am too young. i'm 55. My right knee decided on Friday it had had enough over compensating for my left one and has now given up, i can honestly say i have never felt pain like it. I went to A&E, was given an Xray and told i only have slight arthritis in the right knee. Painkillers prescribed and sent away with an appointment to attend a knee clinic. I cannot weight bare whatsoever. I still have 12 years before i can retire, i work in a school, so my job is quite physical, and if i cant do my job properly, i'm at risk of losing it. I know knee replacements only have a 10 to 15 year life span, but i need one or even 2 now. Sorry for the rant but i don't know where to turn

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Janey127
    Glad you have found us you will find all friendly and willing to help and come along side you with your arthritis and as we all have forms of arthritis in some way or other the advice will be from the heart and knowledge they have gained.
    all the best as you browse the forums.
    Christine x:D
  • Amble
    Amble Member Posts: 32