hi ,im john from glasgow

Options
fkmiller
fkmiller Member Posts: 4
edited 8. Jan 2017, 09:05 in Say Hello Archive
hello everyone, im a newbie.john from glasgow. have had wrist problems for eight years.had two arthroscopies around 3/4 years ago but have just been diagnosed with RA.start my first course of treatment tomorow.salazopryn.ive had a few cortisteroid injections on my rear but last one (2 weeks ago)made no diff.have had the sore swollen wrists now for 6 weeks.i'm hoping you guys can tell me what to expect with the new drugs and stuff.been reading up and its scared me edited.i'm 48.work in construction(architectural glazing) self employed with young family and really cannot afford not to work.any help would be really appreciated.jp

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi,
    and welcome to the forums. I'm sorry to hear that you've been having so many problems with your wrists and that you have now been diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis. It is a great shock to the system to be handed out this diagnosis and I'm sure it will take you some time to come to terms with it.
    However there is good news, it is good to hear that you've already been started on salazopryn, this is a good first treatment often used for rheumatoid arthritis, it can take some time before you will feel the benefits of this drug working for you, and sadly it may not be the right one for you and it may take a little while to find the right drug to keep your arthritis under control. Rest assured your consultant will be keeping a close eye on this for you.

It may be worth asking your GP if you can be referred to an occupational therapist to help you to find ways of managing your wrists while you are at work and they are still so painful. There are such things as wrist splints but I would not want to pre-empt what an occupational therapist might prescribe for you as they are the experts in providing aids.