Hi newbie here

Tony1
Tony1 Member Posts: 10
edited 31. Jan 2017, 10:54 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone, my name is Tony, I'm from East Yorkshire and I'm 64 years old. I have been married for 40 years and have a 34 year old son Tim.
About 18 months ago whilst on holiday in Cyprus during my second week I had woken up on a lovely morning but on trying to get out of bed found myself in extreme pain.
Almost every part of my body felt stiff and painful. Movement was agonising and it some 20 minutes to get out of bed! As time went on it got more painful. I was worried that I might need medical assistance but as I was only a couple of days from flying home decided not to. I only just made it home in shocking all over pain ( would describe it as 'medieval' !).
Went to see my GP the following day and was put on 40 mg of Steroids (prednisolone) per day for 2 weeks the idea being to slowly cut down.
To cut a very long story short I have been trying to reduce the dose under the supervision of a Consulltant Rheumatologist , which has due to numerous flare ups has taken 18 months. I am now down to 5mg but can't drop any further as the pain returns.
Still seeing my consultant and we are working together to alter my other meds. to try and reduce the steroids further. This management dose is not stopping all the pain, it still hurts but is much better than it was at first! Wonder if this willl ever end as it becomes quite depressing still having this illness. Was originally told this would last 6 months!!!.
Well that's my story so far, would appreciate your feedback and thanks for listening.
Regards,
Tony.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Tony thanks for tellingnus your story sharing is good and helps everyone to understand your needs. Welcome to the forum hope you enjoy talking to everyone we are all friendlynand supportive to each other.
    All the best.
    Christine :sun:
  • stickywicket