Another newbie

Pickleli11y
Pickleli11y Member Posts: 9
edited 19. Feb 2017, 13:08 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone,
I have had psoriatic arthritis for many years now and it's easier to say where it isn't rather than where it is !
I have spondylolithesis (L5/S1), often suffer bursitis and have peripheral neuropathy which was caused by one of the meds given to me to help my arthritis :(
I'm about to embark on the PIP process, so will be very interested to see how others got on.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello, I too have PsA which began twenty years ago in the wrong place (which was less than helpful when it came to diagnosis). Over the years I have also acquired OA and fibromyalgia which isn't fun, the PsA is well-controlled by the combination of injected meth and humira but of course they have no effect on the other two, well not for me!

I am sorry to read of your current situation, I have no experience of bursitis or peripheral neuropathy but am fortunate in that I was accepted for a lifetime higher rate mobility DLA long before PIP came into being. I know I will be transferred at some point to PIP so I can't be of much help on that front but if you have a look at the thread titles on the Benefits and Working matters board here I am sure you will find others' experiences.

I wish you well. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hello and welcome from me too :D

I have RA rather than PsA but they're close cousins :wink:

I've never heard of spondylolithesis so I had to look it up on NHS Choices. I presume it's the PsA that caused it. Or are you part of our not-so-special band who have managed to achieve two types of arthritis, OA being the add-on?

May we know which med gave you peripheral neuropathy? I'm rather keen to avoid it :wink: