Hello. I am new to this so please bare with me!

Sue
Sue Member Posts: 40
edited 21. Mar 2017, 04:07 in Say Hello Archive
I have just been diagnosed with severe oestoarthris in my neck. I am in so much pain and have been for many months. Following an x ray I have been told that four discs are no more and three vertebrae have crumbled. The only help I have received from my Doctor is increase the medication and learn to live with it. I am struggling to " learn to live with it" does this mean that for the rest of my life I will have to endure this agony? The nights are the worst. Cannot get any relief from the pain at all. Can't wait for the morning to arrive but then I hurt even worse then. Trying to find a support group locally but haven't been successful so far. To me, at this moment, the future is very bleak. Can anyone help me come to terms with this? I am desperate and would welcome any help / advice. Thanks in anticipation.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello, I have OA in other places but not my neck. I can, however, empathise with the pain because I hold myself very stiffly thanks to pain everywhere else, so my neck does protest from time-to-time, my shoulders and jaw too.

To a certain extent your GP is quite correct, the 'treatment' for OA is pain relief, possibly an anti-inflammatory medication and gentle exercise to help preserve the range of movement but given the severity of your condition I am surprised that you have not been referred to an orthopaedic surgeon. Some on here have had neck surgery and I hope they spot your post.