Can anyone reassure me?!

littlemimmy
littlemimmy Member Posts: 111
Hi everyone,

I recently joined the forum and have found it to be a great source of information and support.

I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis last year, and have just read in the European Fit for Work Report (2010) that one in three people with RA become disabled and that 40% leave work completely within five years of diagnosis.

This has terrified me; my career is only just starting and I can't imagine not working, both financially and emotionally.

I'm an Adult Education Tutor, and I'm hourly paid, which means I can be fairly flexible and cannot be forced to work evenings, etc. However, I'm having to work as many hours as I can because of our financial situation, and I don't see that changing any time soon.

Can anyone reassure me? I obviously know that lots of people do manage to work, but has anyone been able to keep up the same number of hours in the same job? I'd love to hear about it!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello littlemimmy

I can see reading that report really has scared you, being at the start of your career and needing to earn too.

There are many, many people who work and have arthritis. Yes people may change the work they do or the way they do their hours, but they are still able to work and earn.

To turn the figures on their heads you could say 2 in 3 people with RA do not become disabled and 60% are still working 5 years after diagnosis.

Until some forum members come along to give you their story I have attached this link and hope it helps:

https://www.arthritiscare.org.uk/living-with-arthritis/working-with-arthritis

If you feel it would help to talk to someone you can always call our helpline on 0808 800 4050

Take care of yourself.

Ellen
  • daffy2
    daffy2 Member Posts: 1,636