What should I expect from a rheumatologist?

hippy
hippy Member Posts: 55
edited 11. Apr 2017, 15:05 in Living with Arthritis archive
I have appointment in a month with rheumatologist. My GP wants them to confirm/deny his diagnosis of Polymyalgia Rheumatica. If confirm, he wants them to prescribe treatment that are not steroids (I have bipolar and steroids very quickly made me too high) I honestly think it is possible that my GP is wrong......but I am not being a Google doctor, I don't know what it is :-D

Anyway, what can I expect from a rheumatologist? What are they likely to do?
My legs are in so much pain.....I am feeling rather desperate in my hope that they will be able to DO something!

Comments

• Annie324
    Annie324 Member Posts: 6
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi hippy,
    I had an appointment with a rhuematoligist for the first time just over a month ago. First she asked me what my symptoms were and she asked me some questions in between. Try and remember to tell him/her everything, it's so easy to forget some symptoms. Secondly she physically examined me and tested me for fibromyalgia which I did not have. Assuming you have had xrays, he/she will have them on their screen, she talked me through mine. From the xrays she could see I had early osteoarthritis of the neck and spine. She organised physiotherapy for me and prescribed some analgesic cream to rub in. Depending on what your diagnosis is you may have follow up appointments with him/her or arrangements may be made for further tests. I do not have to see my rhuematologist again. She gave me a booklet on osteoarthritis and its management. I was very nervous but she put me at ease. Just let them know all your symptoms. Best wishes, hope everything goes well. I'd be interested to know how it goes. Take care x
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520