should I take MTX while unwell

Reona
Reona Member Posts: 6
edited 28. Jul 2017, 07:52 in Say Hello Archive
Hi

I'm new to this and this is my first post. I started taking 15mg Methotrexate just 4 weeks ago and overall it hasn't been as bad as I had anticipated. I've had the results from my first 2 weekly blood tests and everything was ok (next bloods in the morning). My medication day is Sunday but I was really sick on Friday night (vomiting but no diarrhoea) and although I'm not been sick anymore I still feel a bit under the weather and nauseas. Should I take my meds tonight or delay it a day and talk to the nurse/doc/pharmacist in the morning?

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Reona,

Welcome to the forum. I apologise for the lateness of my reply, your post didn't appear when I checked last time.

Well done on managing so well with your meds, I'm glad there aren't any problematic side effects of them so far.

It's best to check with your rheumy nurse if you have any infections - including tummy bugs and especially as you are so new to the meds as well.

Here is a leaflet produced by Arthritis Research about Mtx which you might find useful

https://www.arthritisresearchuk.org/~/media/Files/Arthritis-information/Drugs/Methotrexate 2247 15-1.ashx

Please let us know how you get on

Take care
    Yvonne x
  • Reona
    Ah, thanks Yvonne. It was just my luck to have this happen on Friday night & the weekend when doctors/nurses are not available! Anyway, started feeling a lot brighter this afternoon so have taken them safe in the knowledge that I'm seeing the nurse first thing in the morning. I'll definitely keep you posted and really appreciate your interest.
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,332
    Hello Reona :)

I big welcome from me too :D

This is a lovely forum full of great helpful people. Do come on in and join us.

Love

Toni xxx
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520