Young person with arthritis

Courtney1234
Courtney1234 Member Posts: 60
edited 28. Jul 2017, 03:36 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi I'm new to this but just looking for advice. I'm 19yrs old and For the past 2 years I've suffered with flare ups in my right knee. It becomes very swollen and now I always have a constant clicking /grinding sensation when I bend or move it, sometimes which can be very painful. I've had MRI scans but nothing has seemed to show up on them. I've recently been started in hydroxychloriquine and have been taken that for 3 weeks. My rheumatologist is going along the lines that I suffer with chronic reactive arthritis as everytime I have a flare up, I become ill, the past couple of times it's been with tonsillitis, however this hasn't been definitively confirmed. I'm having a few side affects like headaches and nausea and not noticing improvement as of yet but I know it can take up to 3mnths. I was supposed to have sulphazalaine but my rheumatology team noticed I have a constant and raised ana which is positive. What does this actually mean? Nobody has explained it to me. I also went to see a orthopaedic surgeon last month and they have decided to do one more course of physio (I've already have one and it made me flare up very bad which caused me then to be ill so I have no idea why they're giving it again) and if no better in 6mnths then they want to do knee arthscopy. I'm feeling like I've just been forgotten about and passed around as nobody has a clear diagnosis for my condition. I haven't had any support from anyone and I have no idea what is going to happen.
Sorry for the long post. Has anyone experienced similar?
Thanks
Courtney

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00