Nervous newbie. With questions about tapezioctomy.

Marblegenie
Marblegenie Member Posts: 5
edited 24. Jan 2019, 07:36 in Say Hello Archive
Hello there, I was wondering if anyone could give me a few pointers...I am due to have a left hand trapezioctmy( hopefully my spelling will improve!) in January.
I am a set-dresser and props maker by trade, so I guess I’ve always demanded a lot from my hands and now they are rebelling. I’m left handed, so this just gets better and better. I have a small insurance policy that gives me approximately 3 months cover, but I am wanting to know if I will be able to go back to my work.i use needle and thread a lot, so it’s often a combination of fine motor skills and heavy grappling to hang lighting or manoeuvre big stuff into position. When I got a copy of the letter of intent sent from my consultant to my doctor, I got the impression that he hadn’t really grasped the importance of my questions. He wrote that he felt I wasn’t able to do ‘crafting’! Granted I sometimes have to create a bit of knitting or embroidery, but I don’t think he realised it’s my bread and butter, not just something I do when the telly is broken! I’m totally committed to tackling the physio and rehabilitation it will take afterwards, I just wish someone could give me a better gauge of what I can expect... if I knew people have this procedure and then can knit, sew, stick down carpet and model clay, I’d feel less apprehensive. Am I asking for the moon on a stick? I really just wanted to ask the surgeon, would he go for it, based on the requirements of his job. Basically my skeleton hates me. Thank you so much for any pointers.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello Marblegenie