May I ask for pocket duties, please?

dreamdaisy
dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
edited 8. Mar 2018, 03:53 in Living with Arthritis archive
Tomorrow I have an appointment at 1pm which guarantees misery, pain and general unpleasantness: I would appreciate some positive thoughts (and gin) to help me through.

I have put off going to the dentist for years and now my cowardice is rightly coming home to roost. One of the double teeth on the bottom right (which is all filling and capped to boot) is shooting shafts of exquisite pain into my gum and jaw, I suspect I have an infection/abscess and accept that something needs to be done before things get worse.

I am a glum girl. :( DD
Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I have a thought to cheer you.

Mr SW is currently in a similar situation but, as there was an infection, the dentist could only give him amoxycillin to sort that out before doing anything drastic with pliers, hammers and chisels :wink: . I hope you'll have a similar outcome though it does leave the scary stuff to be the subject of nightmares for a week or so.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • GraceB
    GraceB Member Posts: 1,595
    DD, I'll be in your pocket but please leave your coat in the waiting room as I hate the sound of the dentist drill!

GraceB
    Turn a negative into a positive!
  • daffy2
    daffy2 Member Posts: 1,636
    Oh you poor thing DD. I do hope it gets sorted for you tomorrow. When I worked for a dentist more than 40 years ago I well remember what a leveller an abscessed tooth could be - big strong men reduced to grey faced misery.
    If it's of any comfort, although it is obviously better to have regular check ups that won't necessarily prevent such a thing happening, especially to a much doctored tooth.
  • Claudette