Hi I'm new today

Options
Marxyb
Marxyb Member Posts: 2
edited 9. Apr 2018, 17:23 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone .I was diagnosed with moderate to severe osteoarthritis of the right knee a year ago and like all of you have struggled . I am a full time teacher so am on my feet a lot and whilst I feel some allowances have been made I don't think most appreciate what a struggle it is. Most painkillers do not even touch the pain (8 full strength cocodamol and 2 naproxen a day) so it's generally grit my teeth time and get on with it. The thing I hate most is how it limits my life .my poor husband is brilliant he does so much and we can't go out for walks or anywhere I have to walk for long. I long to wander round shops or anywhere for that matter and our lives are planned totally around me. It can be so depressing at times. Being on these forums I hope will help with support from you all and advice.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello, it's nice to meet you but I am sorry you have had to find us. I am now in my twenty-second year of dealing with arthritis, I have learned a great deal over that time about how and when to adjust to the demands the disease makes and how best to help myself to improve matters.

I began with an auto-immune kind (psoriatic) and over the years the joint damage that caused has naturally resulted in osteo, some joints have one, some the other and others both. I have used walking aids since a major knee operation in 2002 (not a replacement) because they enable me to go further and do more which is the point. I was a teacher working as a private tutor for dyslexics so I was fortunate in that I could tailor things to suit my needs but finally stopped after a double carpal tunnel operation: I don't miss it one iota.