Hello!

anna1979
anna1979 Member Posts: 7
edited 25. Apr 2018, 11:24 in Say Hello Archive
Hello everyone

I’m new to this and new to forums but I will introduce myself.

I am 38 and I was diagnosed, by a rheumatologist, with ReA on Monday after two very difficult months with joint and muscle pain following what I now think was a sinus infection at the beginning of the year. The GP did an urgent referral for me as it got so bad I became unable to walk due to the pain and stiffness in my hips and knees. Although it was also affecting nearly every other joint in my body and I felt incredibly poorly. I have been very lucky though as I only had to wait 3 weeks to be seen.

The rheumatologist gave me an intramuscular steroid injection and said I should start feeling better the next day. It has taken a little longer than that but on day 3 I am feeling so much better in that I don’t feel so poorly but still have the arthritic pain in most joints. Can anyone advise me if this might further improve in a few more days? Or if I just need to ride this out and carry on doing as much as I can but keep resting too. I was really hoping to get back to work and some normality next week if possible!

I have been very fortunate to have good health until now so it has really opened my eyes up to ‘invisible illnesses’ and has taught me a lot about how many resilient people there must be who are dealing with chronic pain every day. Thinking of you all.

Anna x

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Anna
    and welcome to the forum, it looks like you have had a rough road getting your diagnosis but it's good that you are now under a rheumatologist. Steroids work very differently for different people so I apologise but I really couldn't say if you will get better still. Am I right in assuming that your rheumatologist has also started you on other medication? These can take some time to kick in.