Waiting to have high tibial osteotomy (and other questions)

Options
SwimmerGirl
SwimmerGirl Member Posts: 5
edited 10. Dec 2018, 07:57 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello,

I’m new to this, having stumbled across this forum whilst researching. Forgive me if I just blurt it all out, there’s a lot going on!

Background: I’m (have been) very active, running marathons, triathlons and so on. I have experienced knee pain on and off for years and eventually, having tried everything and not finding a definitive answer, I saw an orthopaedic consultant in the summer. He looked at my x-ray and said I have osteoarthritis.

As I am 45, I’m too young for knee replacement and he suggested an osteotomy. I was stunned and upset because this seems as if it will put an end to my active lifestyle (I work in this area too, so my career as well).

I can’t really find any information about people having this surgery and returning to previous activity levels. My consultant stressed that this is about getting me ‘pain-free’ and not about getting me running. I understand this, but want to feel informed and know what I’m getting into (I’m also a parent, I want to be able to play with my child).

Has anyone been through this and feels able to share their experience and the outcomes?

I have other questions and concerns, but I think that’s enough for now!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello SwimmerGirl and welcome to the forums from the moderating team :)

‘Blurting’ it all out is absolutely fine and can be an excellent way of letting us all know what is going on with you! No need to apologise I can see why you are feeling as you do with your career seemingly in jeopardy.

High tibial osteotomy has been discussed on the forum in the past and I hope this link to a previous thread helps:

https://arthritiscareforum.org.uk/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=18749&hilit=knee+osteotomy