Fatigue and RA

ShonaM
ShonaM Member Posts: 2
edited 4. Jan 2019, 08:20 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting. I'm 29 and got diagnosed with RA 3 years ago. I'm currently on Leflunomide and waiting on trying another medication along with it. I work full time in a school and have two children. The tiredness everyday is so bad. It doesn't matter if I get 3 hours or 15 hours sleeping I just can't shake this feeling. Does anyone have any tips on how to help?
Thanks.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi ShonaM
    welcome to the community it is lovely to have you here. Having rheumatoid arthritis and the fatigue that goes with it does make day to day living very challenging. As you say feeling tired all the time is exhausting, pardon the pun.
    Being on the right medication will help but of course these things take time to settle meanwhile it can be challenging to pace yourself and adapt especially with a full time job and 2 children. You might find this section of our website useful https://www.versusarthritis.org/about-arthritis/managing-symptoms/managing-fatigue/
    I am sure some of our wonderful members will also be able to share their experiences with you. Please let us know how you get on
    Best Wishes
    Sharon
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hello and welcome from me too.

I can only endorse what Sharon has written. I've had RA for upwards of 50 years and the fatigue can be horrendous. I was also a teacher way back and I have two grown-up sons. It's a challenging mix :roll: Frankly, the times when I've really been bad with the fatigue are times when the meds weren't working sufficiently. I guess this is why you're waiting for another med. I take methotrexate and hydroxychloroquine but other combinations are available.