AFTER CORTISONE STEROID ACCELERATION OF ARTHRITIS EVERYWHERE

Bean
Bean Member Posts: 3
edited 8. Jan 2019, 15:33 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone I’m new to arthritis and to the forum. I am asking to see if anyone has had my experience.
2017 Sept I received a 7th steroid injection by my consultant in a period of 18 months. I was not told this was dangerous.
I was immediately admitted to A & E with a haematoma in the knee. Told to rest for 5 days. I didn’t walk again without crutches for one year. I complained of severe pain on standing and walking. I also couldn’t open my hands or clench fists the same week of the injection. I complained for five months being told ‘nothing is wrong and you’re too young for a new knee and you only have very mild arthritis’. After stating I didn’t want a new knee just wanted to know what happened in the injection I started a formal complaint and was given a new consultant. That consultant gave me an X-ray and proceeded to say I had very mild arthritis and only a tiny percentage of people would react to the injection. I told him that percentage was me and I had not worked since the injection. I’d had to move into a disabled home and was about to have hand surgery for severe arthritis too. He then looked at the X-ray and said in a very shocked voice ‘I’m going to have to operate and give you a new knee as you are now bone on bone.’
I have now had the new knee at age 50. I’m awaiting finger surgery, carpal tunnel surgery and this weekend I discovered I have arthritis in my back and curvature of the spine with bulging disc. I complained of back ache after the injection but was told by doctors it was because I’d been on crutches for so long.
This, I believe is all down to the steroid. Or too many injections in a short space of time.
I did not have arthritis anywhere before this injection except mild in the knee.
I’ve now seen on google too many steroids can accelerate arthritis.

Has anyone experienced this too?

Comments