Forefinger and thumb numbness

Options
jaycoh
jaycoh Member Posts: 4
edited 11. Jan 2019, 08:48 in Living with Arthritis archive
My forefinger and thumb have numbness after a Trapeziectomy surgery due to arthritis. Will feeling return? It’s been 4 months since surgery and I’m finished with physical therapy. I play drums and guitar and, if this is the new normal (as my doctor suggested it could be), I will no longer be able to play (an outcome I'm not happy about at all).

Has anyone dealt with this? I believe we've ruled out carpal tunnel so I'm hoping that it'll improve over time.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Good Evening jaycoh

Welcome to the forums from the moderating team. Any problems you have using the forum do let us know.

I am sorry to hear you are suffering with your hand post op and fear this may be your new normal. As a guitarist I can see this would be devastating for you.

We have lots of lovely members on here who have considerable experience of living with arthritis I am sure someone will be along to help you soon.

In the meantime I attach a link which has information about hand surgery:

https://www.versusarthritis.org/about-arthritis/treatments/surgery/hand-and-wrist-surgery/

Many members on here have reported lengthy recoveries from surgery and I very much hope that you will see further improvement.

Best wishes

Ellen
  • jaycoh
    Options
    Thank you, Ellen!

moderator wrote:
    Good Evening jaycoh

Welcome to the forums from the moderating team. Any problems you have using the forum do let us know.

I am sorry to hear you are suffering with your hand post op and fear this may be your new normal. As a guitarist I can see this would be devastating for you.

We have lots of lovely members on here who have considerable experience of living with arthritis I am sure someone will be along to help you soon.