Newbie saying Hi

Wendilou
Wendilou Member Posts: 6
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hi after following this site for a while I thought it was time to sign up and introduce myself, I'm a 57 year old mum of two both in their 30s, happily married and besotted with my two grandchildren.
For 34 years I was a chef which has contributed to my medical problems, I have osteoarthritis of my feet/ankles, my knees and my neck and back.
I also have a tear in the cartlidge in my knee ( I'm currently seeing an orthopedic surgeon about this) I also have 3 bulging discs in my neck 2 if which are impinging on nerves but as they aren't pressing on them all the time the orthopedic surgeon I was seeing for that has said I have to cope with physio and medication.
I've been seeing a great physiotherapist since the beginning of December who started work on my knees and I have to say the exercises have helped immensely, he started working on my neck 2 weeks ago giving me some exercises and last week did a bit of stretching my neck ( this helped for a couple of days and improved movement but not the pain) today he tried acupuncture and I can have 5 more sessions of this with him, so fingers crossed it gives me some relief as my new job is on the checkouts at a supermarket and sitting for any length of time on uncomfortable hard chairs isn't very nice, I've got my first phone appointment with occupational health in 2 weeks so hopefully they can help me as well.
Medication wise I take naproxen twice a day, I initially was given gabepentin but I found I piled the weight on and didn't feel any benefit, I was recently prescribed codiene for a painful ear and found taking 2 if these at night alongside the naproxen gave me a better night's sleep so I'm going to see if I can use this long term as well.
Thanks for reading and if anyone has any experience of acupuncture I'd love to hear from you, many thanks

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635