Greetings from Cornwall

Mike1
Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
I have just joined the forum :D I am 60, divorced and living alone with my cat in the far West of Cornwall. I have Degenerative Facet Joint Disease and am riddled with Osteoarthritis which is especially bad in my hands and neck (I have a few other problems too). I use crutches around my bungalow and an electric wheelchair, neck and hand braces when out and about. I have a Motability car and a mobility scooter for going to the village shop. Copious quantities of Morphine keep me going as well as helping a Military Veterans charity which I help to raise funds for when I can and I also volunteer as a Welfare Officer for the Charity which I find incredibly rewarding. As a Veteran myself it is shocking to see how many former colleagues need a helping hand, I consider myself one of the fortunate ones so try to do my best. It is also shocking to see how many genuinely disabled people need a hand as well. I am not afraid to challenge any organisation to get us what we need/deserve. I have trouble putting on and taking off coats and jackets now as it is difficult to get my arms far enough behind my back, I have devised something to help and once I have taken some photos I will put it on the forum in the hope that it may help others.
Enough waffle for now.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Mike1
    Welcome to the forum lovely to hear from you. Everyone on the forum is friendly and understanding and will try and help in any way to make you feel part of the forum the most popular forums are Living with Arthritis and Chit Chat.
    Hope all goes well Christine
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi Mike. You sound to be making a very good fist of living with arthritis and, indeed, using your own misfortunes to help others. That, I reckon, is one of the best forms of pain relief.