Hello from Boston - OA of hip is limiting me so much...

jolovessnow
jolovessnow Member Posts: 4
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hi Everyone,
I am so happy to find this forum that seems very active. I am a university professor and my work life is getting very difficult due to my hip OA. I really need to lose weight. It has been a lifelong issue. I've already had bypass surgery which resulted in significant weight loss but I need to lose more to relieve some of my hip pain. Am using a cane now and very fearful of falling. If anyone is in my situation, how did you motivate yourself into losing the weight?
Thanks all!
Jolovessnow

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Good afternoon jolovessnow and welcome to the Versus Arthritis online community on behalf of the moderators.

You are quite right this is a lovely forum with lots of supportive and experienced members. I know they will be along soon to give you their experience, but in the meantime I attach the following links:

https://www.versusarthritis.org/news/news/losing-weight-when-you-have-arthritis/

This one is about exercise:

https://www.versusarthritis.org/about-arthritis/managing-symptoms/exercise/about-exercise/

Feel free to start a thread on here about your weight loss; a few have while losing weight and they have received so much support and encouragement. I’m sure it helps.

Best of luck

Ellen
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520