arthroscopy of knee

Options
stellabean
stellabean Member Posts: 307
edited 25. Sep 2019, 05:32 in Living with arthritis
Well yesterday I had my arthroscopy on the problem found in my knee by the lovely physio at the hospital. The orthopaedic consultant confidently said I'll have that out in a couple of minutes not knowing what "that " really was it showed as a very large white fluffy object on x-ray and scan.
He came to see me on the day unit afterwards and seemed surprised that the "that" took him over an hour to remove was a total bugger (his words not mine). Turned out it was a fragment of bone tissue calcium and various gunk that occupied the whole of the area behind the knee cap and was adhered to the top of the tibia. So that was what was making my knee a pain in the ****.
It was unbearably hot in the hospital the ward was like walking into an oven my heart went out to the staff I used to be a nurse years ago and the uniforms are not always designed for comfort.The only place I felt comfortable was the recovery room in theatre it was like a fridge and pure bliss.

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Well, that would have been an unpleasant experience at any time but, in the heat too......!

As my old Mum used to say, about many things, better out than in. I hope you do soon feel the benefit. It certainly sounds as if you will. Is rest, exercises or both required?
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • stellabean
    Options
    I have some exercises from the physio at the day unit but also some from a rehab one too. But at the moment I am sitting with it elevated as it is very swollen and painful, I am enjoying sitting with frozen peas on it.