Hello

Bex97
Bex97 Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hi guys, I’m new to this and thought I’d say hi! My name is Becca I am 22 years old and have suffered with arthritis since I was 2, I’m looking for people at a similar age to me help me with their experiences so I feel I am not alone as my friends and family do not understand how I feel!

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Bex 97
    Welcome to the forum,sorry you have been suffering with Arthritis since 2years of age that Is a long time,I have only had it since I grew into old age having had knee replacements and hip to manage the pain and get movement back.My family have never understood my arthritis either not fully anyway so I can understand your frustration. Everyone on the forum understands about pain and arthritis and everyone has various forms of Arthritis, we are also very friendly and sympathetic and will try and make you feel part of the forum the most popular forums are Living with Arthritis and Chit Chat.
    All the best Christine
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi Becca and welcome from me too. That's a long time to have been coping with arthritis. How do you manage? Are you able to work? Which meds are you on?

Sorry, too many questions :oops: Ignore them if you wish :lol:

Finding young people on here will not be easy. We do have a young people's forum but it's not used much and - possibly because of that - people don't hang around. I can think of one or two young people on here but they're not frequent flyers.

However, many of the problems are similar for all of us. Including the 'no-one gets it' thing. Have you tried googling The Spoon Theory? That helps to explain living with a chronic disease.

But it does remain a problem. None of us wants to bang on all the time about arthritis but we do want our nearest and dearest to have some idea.