Hello! Struggling to adjust with OA

Callie
Callie Member Posts: 4
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hello all

Joining up to this forum feels like a coming-of-age, that I'm all growed-up now :)

I was diagnosed with severe osteoarthritis in my knees a few months ago, after years of severe pain and crying in agony after too many instances of well-meaning physiotherapists encouraging me to do torturous exercises in the physio gym ("do more exercise and lose weight, you'll be able to fix it no problem"!!). I've been a curvy gal for years but always been very active, with a love of dancing - I am a dance teacher and Laugher Yoga teacher. The latter really needs you to have lots of bounce in the knees :)

I've really been struggling to get my head around this diagnosis of OA, which came hot on the heels of a fibromyalgia diagnosis.

Finally I have met a surgeon who is agreeable to operating on me, but as I'm not yet 50 (next year is the big one, whooo!) he is deeply resistant to carrying out total knee replacement surgery, and keen to corral me into an osteotomy on my right knee/leg. My left knee has also joined the screaming-party :roll:

I've just become a nonna (grandma) for the first time and this, I think, has triggered my emotional struggles around physical limitations, surgery options and what kind of future beckons. I always dreamed I'd be an active nonna: zero chance of that right now :roll:

Our local counselling service has waiting lists of 6 months, so I'd really appreciate your thoughts if you've had any type of talking therapies (CBT, hypnotherapy, etc.) which you felt were beneficial for helping to manage pre-surgery worries and emotional issues arising from diagnosis/day-to-day living practicalities/impracticalities.

I'd also love to hear from anyone who's taken the osteotomy route.