Possible reactive arthritis?

Options
Ross
Ross Member Posts: 3
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hi,

I'm new to these forums. I'm 39 years old and wanted to share my story in case anyone can relate to it or offer any words of advice...

About 6 months ago, I had a bout of gastritis that lasted around 2 months. As the gastritis got better, I was left with pain in my lower back and left hip. A few weeks later, I started to get pain in both hands. I work in IT and it became so bad that I couldn't do my job.

There was no visible inflammation, no redness and blood tests were clear. Due to the breadth of symptoms, my GP "didn't know who to refer me to" and told me to "get some rest". The decline in my health was terrifying and I've never felt so utterly abandoned in my life.

I took some time off work, but things only got worse. My knees started clicking when I walked, then seized up. They were so painful that, for a few days, I could barely stand. I also started to get pain in both shoulders.

At this point, I gave up on my GP and saw a private orthopaedic surgeon about my hands. More blood tests and X-rays later, he couldn't help and referred me to a rheumatologist. He didn't know what was wrong either, but prescribed amitriptyline, which only made me feel worse.

At this point, I switched to a different GP. My new GP recommended having a test for colitis, which required me to stop taking ibuprofen (which I was only using sparingly, because of my gastro problems) for 6 weeks.

Somewhere around here, my left ankle seized up and became so painful that I couldn't put any weight on it without getting pins and needles in my foot.

After having to have the colitis test done twice(!), it came back negative and my GP recommended taking ibuprofen again. Almost immediately, the pain in my joints got better and the gentle fever I'd been suffering from went away.