Tocilizumab IV to Subcutaneous injection

Hi I’m new to the VA and wondered if anyone could help, I’ve very anxious as I’ve been told I am to switch from IV Tocilizumab to Subcutaneous injections, I am absolutely panic stricken, partly because I Cannot stand Needles and am I am frightened of injecting myself. I don’t have anyone else to help me, as I’m newly separated from partner which has left me with reoccurring PTSD! I live with my son who has Dyspraxia. My Bloods have been really fluctuating this last year due to my dosage adjustment and were just boarder line last month. I’m due to go tomorrow for first injection but I’m not going! I’ve not been out my house for 5 weeks, I’ve not been able to get blood tests done because I just can’t go outside, let alone to clinic which is miles away. I’m really worried, but my Rheumatology Dept just won’t listen hence why I’m just not bothering to go! I’ve tried to communicate my fears and concerns but they just fob me off with your be alright! I’ve had IV Toc for 4 years and it’s worked well for me. Has anyone had to change over at this difficult time and what have you experienced side effect wise. Absolutely terrified! (I have Toc mono therapy partly because I’m hyper drug sensitive and allergic to loads of drugs) fear I’m going to get very sick...My Rheumatology Dept told me all IV Toc has been taken to Use on Covid Patience?

Comments

• Annj
    Annj Member Posts: 59

Hi Pmr650,

Welcome to the forum. I'm so sorry to hear that you are struggling and worried. Have you been told why you are going to switch to injections? Was the reason given the use for Covid-19 patients? It's not a good situation to be in if you feel your Rheumatology Department haven't been listening to you, especially if you are feeling very scared. Have you told them that this has left you feeling unable to attend your appointment? I can hear how difficult you are finding this, but it's not a good idea to just not turn up without telling them.