25, fused joints and muscle wastage

Options
Hey, I'm new to this and don't really know how to start this discussion but at the age of 15 I was diagnosed with polyarticular JIA, at the age of 20 I had a metal plate screwed to hold my left wrist together. I have a partially fused right wrist, and a fully fused right elbow that is stuck at a 45 degree angle. I cannot stand up for too long, nor can I wear flat shoes if i do I'm basically a write off for 2 days. I'm now 25, I have to have 4 lots of surgery by the age of 30, 2 wrist replacements, and elbow replacement and jaw replacement surgery. Im allergic to most drugs for arthritis and twice a year have to have a drug that if not monitored closely sends me into anaphylaxis. I'm at the end of my tether. I try to pretend I don't have it. But I'm in constant pain. I work 42.5 hour weeks on a computer all day. My consultant has advised I go part time but I cannot afford to, he suggested applying for DLA. But they refused my application and basically said I'm not disable enough. She pretty much said that I 'looked well'. I'm tired. I'm honestly so so tired. It's an invisible illness I get that but I need support. Has anyone else got fused joints at a young age. It's shallow but I feel like a freak, the simplest of things is so hard.

Comments

• Sharon_K
    Sharon_K Member Posts: 460
    edited 16. Apr 2020, 15:30
    Options

Hi Zoe

welcome to the forums, so sorry that you have been having such an awful time of it and I am amazed at your endurace to be able to continue to work such a lot of hours.

Firstly no you are not a freak at all my elbows started fusing when I was in my early 20's and my wrists fused next now I also have a fused neck. I am of course much older now of course. Firstly it may well be worth contesting your DLA/PIP application because they are often passed on appeal, maybe try to get hold of your local Citizens Advice, they have a huge amount of information here