Knee pain (liquid morphine)

Options
Sandra
Sandra Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:05 in Living with arthritis
Hello everyone,
I have been suffering for quite some years with mild knee pain which I have managed with regular pain relief. Recently though, I have had a major flare up which has left me in severe pain and on occasions, unable to walk. Due to this covid 19 virus, I am unable to get a cortisone injection as it apparently lowers your immunity to the virus. I have tried cocodamol but it makes me sick so now, the next trial is liquid morphine.
I'd like to hear from anyone that has or is using this and what your thoughts are on the product please and any side effects that you get from it.
Thank you 😊. XxX

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,628
    Options

Hello @Sandra Welcome to the Online community from me.

Personally I have very little experience of liquid morphine only post operatively, but I know there are people who use this forum who do/have used it. Until they come along to talk to you I attach the following link:

You need to scroll to the section on opioid painkillers.

One thing I do remember is that constipation was a definite side effect for me. Solved by a small glass of prune juice daily.

Do let us know how you get on

Take care

Ellen

• Mike1
    Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992
    Options

I have been on slow-release (MST) and liquid morphine (Oramorph) for years as nothing else works. Although I am on a relatively high dose and have been given clearance from the GP to take as much Oramorph as I like, all it does is knock the edge of the pain. If you ask around most people will tell you that whatever drugs they are on nothing gets rid of the pain. Side effects and efficacy vary from person to person, so far as my experiences are concerned it does not make me tired, neither does it affect my bowel movements.

• Danni
    Danni Member Posts: 4
    Options