Long term sufferer new on here

CJE1972
CJE1972 Member Posts: 6
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:05 in Living with arthritis

I have had psoriatic arthritis for 18 years. I have spent several years on Steroids and then the last 13 on methotrexate, initially tablets but injections for most of the time. I work full time as a teacher for children with special needs. My disease has been under control (mostly) for a long time thanks to an excellent consultant and fantastic team. I have had the full range of steroid injections everywhere from knees and fingers to spinal epidural (that was fun) but otherwise no operations or time in hospital. And worked my way through a range of the other drugs used but no biologicals so far.

Nausea and exhaustion have always been an issue but I seem to have got worse recently. I am working from home as I am on the shielding list (methotrexate, high blood pressure, historic lung damage) and finding things really hard at the moment. I find working on a computer has caused flare ups in my shoulders and hands and I can’t get the exercise I need to keep other joints as fit as I would like. Today I just found everything too much and just went to sleep for a few hours. I feel like I can’t continue to do this forever but can’t see a way out and that is incredibly frustrating. I have tried the things that usually relax me - playing bass guitar, learning the saxophone, reading, watching films, working on my old Capri project but my energy and pain levels are stopping me from doing more than a few minutes of anything active.

Does anyone have tips for combating the nausea? (I can’t even watch hand held footage on the news without getting seasick) or the exhaustion?

Sorry for such a negative first post but I guess that if there is anywhere where people will understand what I am experiencing it’s here.

Comments

• Al
    Al Member Posts: 169

Hi and welcome,