OA

Hi new member, just like to speak to someone who understands what I'm going through, was a healthy 40 year old got a wellbeing test when turned 40, diagnosed with thyroid disease since then everything's went south, diagnosed with ibs, gord and OA, been told no link to any of these conditions, told my arthritis is due to my work duties, I'm a painter and Decorator 31 years, finding things difficult spoke to my doctor yesterday again no joy, best thing she could do was offer me antidepressants, not depressed in pain, always feel as if I'm wasting their time as it's only OA.

Comments

• AlanM
    AlanM Member Posts: 46

Hi Marty

welcome to the forum, it's good to see you here.

You have osteoarthritis and a number of other health conditions. You also are experiencing chronic pain, which you're seeking to manage but your GP is focusing on prescribing for possible depression.

Hopefully you'll begin to find some of the information and insight you're looking for here on the forum and in other Versus Arthritis resources, including our website. If you haven't already, please have a look at the information there, which may help you understand better what's happening with your health and provide links to further support.

If you feel that talking to someone might help, please phone our Helpline staff, who can help to support you and talk you through the information that's out there.

And, of course, you will find among the members of the online forum, people who have similar experiences and people who can offer insight and support.

Good luck, Marty, and we look forward to seeing you here on the forum.

best wishes

Alan

• Mike1
    Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992

You need to ask your GP for a referral to your local Pain Clinic mate.

• Hi Marty39