Newly diagnosed, feeling stuck

Hi I hope you’re well. I was diagnosed last month and have started steroids and DMARDs, the steroids are now a low dose and most of my symptoms prior to starting have returned and the DMARDs haven’t made a difference yet.

In March I contracted coronavirus and this triggered a big flare, I’ve been pretty much housebound since then. As a result my muscles are weak on top of the pain and fatigue, I’m struggling with how to move forward.

My rheumatology team hasn’t been great and I feel a bit left in the dark, I’m planning to phone up my GP and ask to be referred for physio. I’m debating a wheelchair just to get out the house. I was wondering if anyone else could relate or share their experiences? I’m new to this online community :) thanks for reading!

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,591

Hi @amelia2002 I am well thank you for asking.

You have been diagnosed at a very tricky time with the COVID pandemic going actually seeing Rheumatology is really difficult at the moment. I hope your team turn out to be a lot better than you fear when things return to 'normal'.

I am going to attach this link about exercise because weakened muscles is not what you need at all:

I think your idea of contacting your GP to see a physiotherapist is an excellent one. Keeping mobile is essential and a physio can help with mobility aids and advice.

If the only way you can get out is with the aid of a wheelchair why not? Our mental health is important too and staying in isolated isn't good for any of us.

For a first time poster you have done really well 🙂 Now have a look around and join in wherever you want to you will be made very welcome.

Best wishes

Ellen

• Lilymary
    Lilymary Member Posts: 1,740