Unsure if I need to shield.

Good Evening,

it is my first time joining/posting on the forum.

I have ankolysing spondylitis and have recently started new treatment. I am currently taking Adalimumab injections every fortnight and wondering if I should be shielding now due to the new guidance announced this evening by the PM.

I was not on this medication when the first lockdown was announced and when individuals were first told to shield.

just wondering if anyone else is on the same medication and could shed some light on it for me. I know I can call my consultant in the morning which I will do but just wondered if I could put my mind at rest this evening.

thanks in advance

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,591

Good Morning @Lewis91

Welcome to the Online Community. I see you have Ankylosing Spondylitis and have recently been started on Adalimumab.

Your query is whether or not you should be shielding. I am attaching a link for you which will be helpful the section entitled 'Which Treatments Supress my Immune System' lists your medication:

I completely agree with you that you should contact your healthcare team for advice and to ensure you are on the shielding list from now on.

Best wishes

Ellen

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,332

I hope you managed to get the answer yourself from reading our posts @Lewis91

Unfortunately our first posts go into moderation as we used to get spammers posting. Lots of spammers going back.

OUr moderators post every day, but usually in the daytime.

Nice to meet you

• Kazza52
    Kazza52 Member Posts: 74

It might be worth speaking to your GP and also registering to go on the shielding list. Once on the shielding list you get priority slots with supermarkets and you can get help with medicine delivery, etc.

Stay safe,

Karen

🐶

• Lewis91
    Lewis91 Member Posts: 4

Thank you both for your replies.