Being Brave and Joining Online!

SarahJS
SarahJS Member Posts: 14
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:05 in Living with arthritis

Hi Everyone,

I'm Sarah, 33, and have arthritis. There's a sentence I find hard to say or type! I was diagnosed Juvenile Arthritis aged 6, Rheumatoid in my late teens/early 20s and last week diagnosed Osteo in my knee. I wouldn't use the word 'suffered' but I have 'coped' with this pretty much on my own throughout my life because I'm embarrassed. I know that can get backs up. Lately I've really been finding things difficult and have bitten the bullet, talking to my colleagues and employers (I'm a teacher) They have been amazing and so, so supportive- not to mention shocked that I'd never mentioned this before and have been getting on.

I've been married for one year, and worry that this condition will affect my relationship, my child and my job but then I realise that I'm listening to the wrong people and need to get up and go.

I hope other people are feeling more confident in admitting or acknowledging their condition that myself. This has been a big step for me, writing this!

Take care!

Sarah

Comments

• Brynmor
    Brynmor Member Posts: 1,755

Hi @SarahJS and welcome to the Online Community, lovely to have you join us.

Having coped with arthritis for more than 25 years without letting on, finally saying that you have it is a fantastic achievement. Absolutely well done for speaking to your colleagues - not an easy step to take if you are not sure of their reaction.

With your long experience with arthritis it would be great to hear what works for you in daily situations that people can often find difficult - what practical situations that you have managed to overcome.

Do join in across the Community, ask questions or just call in for a chat to say how you are getting on. We do understand what it is like to live with arthritis and will always be here.

Best wishes

Brynmor

• wazz42
    wazz42 Member Posts: 233
    edited 19. Dec 2020, 13:14