Hello!

Eowyn
Eowyn Member Posts: 4
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:05 in Living with arthritis

Hi everyone,

I am 41 and I live in Fife, Scotland.

After a couple of months of having stiff hands and a couple of weeks of worsening symptoms (red, swollen finger joints, and pain and stiffness in the fingers and wrists), I contacted my GP. A phone appointment followed by a face to face appointment and I was told I very likely have rheumatoid arthritis. Bloods were taken this morning and x-rays will follow whenever possible (Covid is slowing things down).

So I am now trying to find out more about his illness and the best ways to deal with it. I've had ME and Hashimoto's disease for 10 years so I'm not new to chronic illnesses or pain, but I am new to not being able to use my hands in the usual way...

Comments

• Shell_H
    Shell_H Member Posts: 548

Hi @Eowyn - welcome to the online community!

After your hands and wrists getting worse you've been told you probably have Rheumatoid Arthritis, and you're awaiting results of blood tests and X-rays to be scheduled.

Sounds like your doctor is on the ball so far, which is great. There's lots of good information available - I've linked a couple of pages below. Rheumatoid Arthritis will show up in your blood test - the fact that your joints are swollen and inflamed points more towards RA. You can do things to help yourself while waiting - heat can help stiffness, and if you can exercise and stretching will help long term with pain and mobility.

The link about Hand a Wrist pain has specific advice and exercises which can help.

There are a lot of people on the forum in similar situations to yours - sometimes it's nice to chat and feel able to have a moan or just discuss difficulties with people who understand. Do have a look around and join in any discussions which interest you.

Lovely to meet you!

Shell

• "Rheumatoid Arthritis will show up in your blood test"