Occupational Health

Options

Hi Everyone,

I'm a full time teacher, and I have only recently (this year) come out into the open about my arthritis to my colleagues and work place. I've managed since childhood and am still embarrassed at times which is something I am working through myself. My colleagues have been wonderful and I have been asked whether I would like to see occupational health a few times but have turned it down (I don't like to bother anyone). In my job I obviously have a lot of computer work and marking (which I am managing by shuffling the workload), outdoor duties and PE lessons but we also have a lot of behaviour to contend with where I am often physically restraining children. I found out yesterday that work are getting in touch with them regardless as they know I'll keep turning it down.

I'm assuming that some good will come of this but I guess I'm just wondering what to expect. I've tried looking it up but go round in circles, and am getting paranoid that there's something wrong in this somewhere.

Comments

• Mike1
    Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992
    Options

Your employer has a legal responsibility under the Health & Safety at Work Act to make reasonable adjustments to take account of any disabilities, as they are now aware that you have problems from time to time they have no choice but to involve OH.

• SarahJS
    SarahJS Member Posts: 14
    Options

Thank you. What should I expect from them? I'm worried about the attention that this might cause!

• JB_PSA
    JB_PSA Member Posts: 8
    Options

I had an OH referral when my diagnosis was confirmed and informed my line manager back in 2019. It was a private conversation to inquire about my condition, medication, impact to work etc and how my arthritis was affecting my work day.