How severe is my arthritis?

I have had pain in my knees and joints since I was injured playing football 30 years ago. I was told then that I had arthritis on my knee and that was that. Since then, thanks to diets and natural cures I have managed to cope with my swollen knees and general pain in my bones. When I visit my GP he always says that all is normal... Wear and tear because of age.

Well, I am 69 and very fit. I am an artist, I teach, I have a studio and I plan to be very active at least for the next 10 years. I would like to know how severe is my arthritis and to get professional information about it without having to pay bills that I cannot afford. I have lived in London for the last 47 years. I have no family, no children no bfs and since Brexit life here is not exactly a bed of roses.

Can you help?

Comments

• Hi @BOSCHE,

Welcome to the online community! It's lovely to have you here.

I see that you have arthritis in the knees originating from an injury (would I be right in saying you have been diagnosed with secondary osteoarthritis?) and that you have been managing your condition with alternative therapies and diet so far but are looking for professional advice. I am sure that many here understand the frustration of being told that their pain is 'just' wear and tear or that it is something to accept with age.

Unfortunately, we are not qualified to give anyone medical advice, so I really would recommend speaking to a professional. Perhaps you could ask your GP for a second opinion or to be referred to an NHS pain clinic? How to get NHS help for your pain - NHS (www.nhs.uk). You can also call the Versus Arthritis helpline 0800 5200 520 on weekdays between 9am and 8pm for advice.

It is excellent that you are planning on keeping active, as careful exercise is one of the best things you can do for your joints. The Let's Move programme is designed specifically to help people with arthritis - you can sign up with this link: