Joint pain

I have arthritis in the base of my spine and coccyx area, I also have joint pain, the worse is my knees and shoulders.

In the past 5 years I have had surgery to reattach my right elbow tendon, after it was damaged from steroid injections, I have had 4 different steroid injections into my lower back and coccyx area, and had my coccyx nerves burned, and nothing is helping, if anything the pain is worse.

I feel really down as I am 51, I work full-time as a front line worker, am on my feet all day, and even on loads of different medication, the pain is always there. I feel and walk like I'm 90.

I have no energy, am constantly tired, and a bit overweight, I am now desperately trying to lose weight, but don't know what exercise I should be doing so I don't damage myself.

Sorry for going on.

Comments

• Lilymary
    Lilymary Member Posts: 1,740

Hi @Madmactouche , I'm sorry you’re having such a tough time at the moment, this is the right place to come for a moan. If you’re feeling really low you can also call the lovely people on the VA helpline.

There’s a very good section on this site for pain management, so do have a look through. There is a whole raft of techniques, some will work better for you than others, but I find it’s good to have a number of weapons in my arsenal when battling pain.

but it also sounds like you’re burnt out, both physically and emotionally. Sometimes you really need to stop to allow your batteries to recharge, to allow the inflammation in your body to settle down, and to nurse yourself for a while. It will only get worse if you keep trying to push through it - arthritis is pretty unforgiving like that. Can you take a short spell off work? if not, try to reprioritise things for a while to give yourself more rest time, both in the evenings and on your days off, try to find different ways to do things you find really challenging, or simply ask for help.