Having hip replacement surgery overseas

Has anyone ever done this? Not sure if I would consider this,but given the waiting times, is it something you would consider?

i think in some cases you are able to get a refund of costs.

lots to look into, would be interested to hear of any experiences.

Living on the Kent coast and looking forward to a pain free future

Comments

• Lilymary
    Lilymary Member Posts: 1,740
    edited 16. May 2021, 15:44

I have no experience of this, but it’s not something I would ever consider unless it was in a country where their standards of surgery and aftercare are very much higher than ours, and there are very few of those, and they will be even more expensive than us.Given that the pandemic is global, I suspect hospitals all round the world are stretched at the mo.

You will have no reliable way of assessing the skill of the surgeon pre-op. THR is major surgery with plenty of scope for going wrong in unskilled hands, which could leave you worse off than you are now and may prejudice future options for corrective surgery. Personally, I wouldn’t touch it with a barge pole.