Work difficulties

Hi everyone 

I feel like reality is kicking in at the age of 43.

Saw the rheumatologist in November and been diagnosed with Osteoarthritis mainly in my hands.

Im a district nurse and am struggling to do the clinical side of my job. I’m restricted in my role as I’m no longer allowed to use needles as have stabbed my self a couple of times! I struggle to complete more dexterous skills and feel pretty useless as a clinical nurse! 

I’ve come to the conclusion I need a different role which luckily I can find fairly easily.

I accept bad days are inevitable but they’re so often it’s becoming a real pain. On really bad days I drop everything and I know so many of you can relate.

I’ve been given exercises, take painkillers and use CBD cream. All of which help some.

The OT suggested some natural things to try such as magnesium, turmeric and others I can’t remember. 

I’ll try anything to get more of my hand function back so if you can make any suggestions or drop me some advice I would be so grateful and it might cheer this fed up, down in the dumps nurse blessed with OA up.

Thanks and stay safe ❤️

Comments

• Mike1
    Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992

First off thanks for keeping going as a nurse, many people would have given up when it became difficult. Anyway hands are one of my problems as well, my thumbs are particularly bad so I wear this type of support rather than compressions gloves

They lock my thumbs in place, they are available on the NHS through your OT and can be purchased on the internet for around £40. They certainly help me.

• JoGedling
    JoGedling Member Posts: 2