Bad Night OA Knees

Well, I had what could be construed as a bad evening. When I woke this morning my right knee was bothering me more than usual, but that goes with the territory. Then, at 21:45 I was walking my dogs when the knee flared up. When I say flared up, it almost knocked me over with the pain. Fortunately I was walking beside a wall and was able to hold myself up.

I got upstairs and into my flat, but I knew I was in big trouble. This was a 8 out of 10 level pain. I had tears in my eyes. I was gripping the arms of my chair hoping it would pass, but it clearly wasn't.

I take 4X 30g Codeine/500mg Paracetemol and 2X 500mg Naproxen, twice a day. Clearly, this is helping anything. The pain was horrendous, and I took a further 5X of the Codeine. No help.

I then did something I've never done before, I called 111. 111, if you don't know, is the hotline to the NHS in the UK. I gave my details, answered some questions, and was told I would get a call back within an hour. Two hours later a "medical practitioner" called. We talked, and she said she was sending an ambulance because I needed to go to hospital for blood work because I'd taken too many pain pills. I refused and said I didn't want to go, and requested they cancel the ambulance. I know their resources are tight, and they have emergencies to deal with without me and my knees.

Apart from that - here's the grim reality - Zapain (the name of the medication I'm taking) does nothing anyway. Either it's not strong enough, or I'm immune to it (which scientifically might make no sense). I could 50 of them and nothing would happen.

I'm venting because a) I know that if I got into a true pain emergency, it'd be hours to get help. b) If I'm at an 8 out of 10 for pain, I'm obviously going to use the only tool I have to hand - the Zapain in the blind hope it'll do SOMETHING. ANYTHING. c) I feel helpless.