Hi! New here and wanted to introduce myself - AS at 23. Help!

Hi everyone!

I wanted to reach out to some of the younger community on here, I am new to arthritis and have found the journey challenging particularly because I have no one around me going through anything similar.

I have been battling chronic pain/injury in my lower lumbar since my teens but got diagnosed this year with AS at 23. Always pushed to remain really active (I love the outdoors) until this last year which has seen drastic changes in my career path and pass times which has been a huge struggle for me. Feeling pretty doom and gloom about the coming years and this getting worse. I am currently going though a big flare up in my hips/pelvis and wanted to know how some of you guys have experienced it and how you've coped with it?

I was on NSAIDs for 3 months after diagnosis but ended up in hospital with a GI bleed and I am still battling with chronic gastritis from the damage. I am in between reviews with my doctor where we are going to peruse biologics. I am at the point where I am sleeping most nights with ice packs between my legs to help deal with the pain and inflammation and I'm in pain all day no matter what activity or lack of I am doing. Looking forwards to my stomach healing so that I can resume other medications (although that damage has made me a little nervous). Any tips for inflammation and pain in the pelvis area in the meantime? (I already do lots of swimming which has helped it a little and I'm a normal weight).

Also, I hadn't dealt with much pain in my hips until a couple of months ago. It feels very sudden onset in the area and it's really severe. Has anyone else had a similar experience?

Hope everyone on here has been going well, take care!

Comments

• Hi @Lucy1, welcome to the Online Community! It's lovely to have you here.